Press Releases

Saint Augustine's College Hosts an Evening of Elegance and Purpose- 2012 Sapphire Gala

April 24, 2012
Saturday, April 21, members of the Falcon family and the Raleigh community donned evening gowns and tuxedos for Saint Augustine's University's 2012 Sapphire Gala. The gala was held at the Marriott City Center hotel in downtown Raleigh.

The gala is a formal black tie event with the purpose of raising funds for student scholarships. John Clark of ABC 11 hosted the event for the University.

"Tonight, we take the time to reflect on an indelible legacy that has spanned 145 years," stated President Suber. "This is a very critical time for Saint Augustine's University. As quality education around the nation is at a crossroads with the changing economy, we must continue to grow and maintain a standard of excellence that allows us to stand out from our peers."

The award recipients of the 2012 Sapphire Gala were:

Dr. Thelma Roundtree (posthumous)- Legacy Award

Mr. Hill Harper- Heritage Award

Mayor Charles Meeker- Presidential Salutation

Mrs. Cynthia Marshall- President of AT&T NC En Vogue provided a live show during the gala.

Pictured: Hill Harper, the 2012 Heritage Award recipient seen here giving remarks.

Susan Vogel Visits St. Aug

April 24, 2012
Professor of African Art and Architecture, founder of the Museum for African Art in New York and director of "Fold, Crumple Crush-El Anatsui: Art and Life" documentary, Susan Vogel visited the campus of Saint Augustine's University on Thursday, April 19. Vogel spoke to various art students and faculty members on Ghanaian art and her documentary.

This event was sponsored by the North Carolina Museum of Art and the Arts Department of St. Aug.

Pictured: Susan Vogel, greeting the audience.

History Meets the Arts

April 24, 2012
Wednesday, April 18, "Ain't I a Woman!" came to Seby Jones Auditorium, featuring the Core Ensemble!

"Ain't I a Woman!" portrays an intimate view into the lives of four African American women: Zora Neale Hurston, Sojourner Truth, Clementine Hunter and Fannie Lou Hamer.

The theatrical musical incorporated various genres of music including spirituals, southern blues and jazz.

The event was presented by the President's Literary Series

2012 Inaugural Student L.I.F.E. Awards

April 24, 2012
Thursday, April 19, the Division of Student Development and Services (SDS) held the inaugural Student L.I.F.E. (Learning, Integrity, Foundations, and Engagement) Awards Program in Seby Jones Auditorium at 7 p.m.

Below is a list of the award winners:

Individual Community Service of the Year - Ms. Johna Mitchell

Organization Community Service of the Year - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Resident Assistant of the Year - Mr. Malcolm Richbourg

Student Program of the Year -

Student Government Association

Student Leader of the Year -

Ms. Ashley Nelson

Staff Student Advocate of the Year -

Ms. Nichole Lewis

Faculty Student Advocate of the Year -

Dr. Linda Hubbard

Registered Student Organization of the Year - Campus Activity Board

Greek Organization of the Year -

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

This event was sponsored by the Division of Student Development and Services (SDS).

Pictured: President Dianne Boardley Suber addressing the audience.

Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics' 9th Annual Research Day

April 24, 2012
Saint Augustine's University Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics hosted the 9th Annual Research Day: "Preparing Student Leaders for a Global Workforce," April 19 from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in Penick Hall of Science, room 109.

Throughout the day, various students presented on topics ranging from how to test meat for byproducts to whether or not mathematical principles can be applied to the game of Sudoku.

"The purpose of the annual Research Day in the Science Division is primarily to provide a platform for all seniors to publicly present their senior research projects," stated Dr. Mark Melton, Dean of the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. "An added bonus is the presence of campus administrators, faculty and students attending to see what our students are capable of producing!"

The winners of the 2012 Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics' 9th Annual Research Day were: Ms. Roxanne Smith- First Place Ms. Ariel Brown- Second Place

This event was sponsored by the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Pictured: Anthony Harris, seen here presenting his research project, "How to Solve Sudoku with Mathematics."

More Articles...

Page 18 of 32