The Board of Trustees is an independent body, self-perpetuating and self-governing, responsible only to itself, to the laws of North Carolina and of the United States of America, and to the fiscal and academic well-being of the University. The Board operates independent of external influences. The Board of Trustees shall be responsible for the establishment of policy of the University and shall appoint a President as chief executive officer of the University. The Board shall exercise its authority as a group and individual trustees shall have no authority to manage the affairs of the University. All Trustees and ex-officio members of the Board shall represent the best interests of the University as a whole and not merely the interests of the group(s) responsible for their election to the Board and shall adhere to a Code of Ethics.


Brian A. Boulware

Mr. Brian A. Boulware, ‘95

Tyrone, GA


Hadley Evans, Jr.

Mr. Hadley Evans, Jr.

Charlotte, NC

Vice Chair & Treasurer

Joseph Lynn

Mr. Joseph “Joe” Lynn,  ‘79

Knightdale, NC


Rufus Montgomery

Mr. Rufus Montgomery

Atlanta, GA

Nominating Committee Chair

Joseph Cheshire

Mr. Joseph B. Cheshire, V, Esq.

Raleigh, NC

Member at Large



Mr. Kenneth Barnes

Florence, SC

Marley_Bollinger_Trustee_Head Shot_For SAU_Website

Ms. Marley Bollinger

Wilmington, NC

George Brooks

Dr. George Brooks

Atlanta, GA

leon caldwell

Dr. Leon D. Caldwell

Laurel, MD

Sophie L Gibson

Ms. Sophie Gibson

Atlanta, GA

Dr. Antonio “Tony” Knox

Raleigh, NC

Sheila Redmon Stephens

Ms. Sheila Redmond Stephens, ’90


Bishop Rodman

Bishop Diocesan Samuel Rodman

Raleigh, NC

James E. Perry

The Honorable Justice James E.C. Perry

Longwood, FL

Miles Beasley

Mr. Miles Beasley

Rocky Mount, NC

SAU Student Trustee